CD Awards, Presentations, and Posters at Extension Annual Conference

Jan. 22, 2020

Several CD professionals were recognized for their outstanding work at the OSU Extension Annual Conference awards luncheon held on December 18, 2019, at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Columbus. Congratulations to all!

JCEP/ESP Awards:

Creative Works Awards:

  • Program/Event Press Release: Sarah Orlando - 1st Place
  • Follow-up News Story/Press Release: Meghan Thoreau, Judy Walley - 2nd Place
  • Personal Column: Brian Raison - 2nd Place
  • Periodical Publication: Gwynn Stewart - HM
  • Instructional Video: Sarah Orlando - HM
  • Individual Newsletter: Gwynn Stewart - HM
  • Promotional Package (Individual): Gwynn Stewart - 1st Place
  • Promotional Package (Team): Brooke Beam, Danae Wolfe, Rachel Leggett, Kenzie Johnston, Cheryl Buck, Jacci Smith, Rob Leeds, Greg DavisGage Smith, Christine Gelley, Danielle Combs, Kathy Bruynis, Tammy Newsome - 1st Place
  • Fact Sheet: Tory Gabriel - 3rd Place
  • Project Books: Tory Gabriel - 1st Place / Peggy Hall, Eric Romich, Evin Bachelor - HM
  • Blogs: Meghan Thoreau, Judy Walley, Emma Rico (student), Allison Cheek (student) - 3rd Place

Team Teaching Awards:

  • Extension and Non-Extension Collaborators: Safe Medication Practices for Life - Nancy Snook, Samantha Scott, Christine Gelley, Gwynn Stewart, Kristen Huck - 3rd Place


Brooke and Team

Brooke Beam (left) with other team members won first place in the Promotional Package team category.
Gwynn Stewart

Gwynn Stewart won first place in the individual Promotional Package category.
Tory Gabriel

Tory Gabriel won first place with his Project Book.

ESP Chapter Awards:

  • Diversity/Multicultural Recognition (Individual): Brian Raison
Brian Raison

Brian Raison received the Diversity/Multicultural Recognition award for an individual.

JCEP/ESP Scholarships:

  • Brooke Beam, Scott Hardy, Gary Kuhn

JCEP/ESP Service Awards:

CD Program Area Winners:

  • Early Career Service (less than 10 years): Sarah Orlando
  • Midcareer Service (10-20 years): Eric Romich
  • Distinguished Service (20 years or more): David Civittolo
Eric Romich

Eric Romich (left bottom corner) received the CD Midcareer Service (10-20 years) award.
David Civittolo

David Civittolo (right top corner) received the CD Distinguished Service (20 years or more) award.

Many CD professionals also had the opportunity to present at the conference through breakout, ignite, and poster sessions.

Brooke Beam

Brooke Beam presenting "How International Agricultural and Cultural Tours can Impact Extension Programming" at an Ignite session.
Tom Blaine

Tom Blaine presenting "Keys to Publishing Your Work in Peer-Reviewed Journals" at a breakout session.
Amanda Osbourne

Amanda Osborne (right; Courtney Woefle left) presenting "WIC Perks: Expanding Nutritional Incentives Beyond SNAP" at a breakout session, displaying a Lakewood City Council resolution acknowledging the program.
Myra Wilson and Cynthia Bond

Myra Wilson and Cythnia Bond with their poster, "The BRIDGE: A Fiercely Streamlined Approach to Solve Complex Land-Grant Issues."
Brooke Beam

Brooke Beam presenting her poster, "Film and the Farm: The Germinate International Film Fest."
Godwin and Gwynn

Gwynn Stewart and Godwin Apaliyah with their poster, "Economic and Community Development Impacts of Rural Public Transportation in Ohio."
Gwynn Stewart

Gwynn Stewart with her poster, "Ohio State University Extension Energy Program Updates."

Karima Samadi

Karima Samadi with her poster, PROmoting School-community-university Partnerships to Enhance Resilience (PROSPER).

Building Partnerships Poster

Brooke Beam and Kenzie Johnston's poster, "Building Partnerships to Fulfill the Land-Grant Mission."