Appalachian Byway named Ohio's 27th Scenic Byway

Feb. 5, 2020
Appalachian Byway of Ohio

The Appalachian Byway of Ohio was recently approved as the 27th Scenic Byway by the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT). The 105-mile Appalachian Byway of Ohio begins on State Route 78 at Clarington, crosses through Monroe County into Noble County, and continues along SR 78 into Morgan County ending in Nelsonville (Athens County). 

Gwynn Stewart, educator, community development (CD), OSU Extension-Noble County, will be serving on the Ohio Byway Links Board for 2020.

The byway was an expansion of the former Morgan Byway, which was created by past OSU Extension educator Amy Grove. She also serves on the Appalachian Byway partner group with Mike Lloyd, who is another retiree from OSU Extension, CD. He currently serves as the Monroe County Parks District partner.

Click here to view a brochure with more information.